Tropical Traditions Coconut Cream Concentrate Review!

All right, I’m back! Sorry about the amount of space in-between posts. I went to Dallas over the weekend, then Easter was yesterday, so today is the first chance I’ve gotten to write.

Anyway, I promised you all a review of Tropical Traditions Coconut Cream Concentrate, and that is exactly what I’m going to give you!

Information from the website:

“What is Coconut Cream ConcentrateTM?

Coconut Cream Concentrate is certified organic whole coconut meat in concentrated form. It contains no additives* (not even water). The dried coconut meat is ground into a very fine powder, giving it a creamy consistency due to its high fat content. Since it is 70% fat, it is a rich source of pure coconut oil. Note: this is a food, not a cooking oil.

How is Coconut Cream ConcentrateTM used?

You  can mix 1 or 2 teaspoons of Coconut Cream Concentrate with water or juice to make a creamy coconut milk drink. It is also an excellent ingredient for cooking and baking. Because of its low moisture content, it can be mixed right in the batter or dough of breads and pastries. It can also enhance soups, be blended with smoothies, or made into ice cream. Many people just eat it straight, or spread it on breads and crackers, because it is so delicious! For some great recipes, get the Virgin Coconut Oil book. See also recipes below.

Note: in colder weather Coconut Cream Concentrate will become hard, due to the high amount of natural coconut oil and fiber. It needs to be warmed to liquefy. But this is a food, not a cooking oil. If you use high heat, it will burn.

How is Coconut Cream ConcentrateTM different from canned coconut milks and creams?

Commercial coconut milks and creams are generally sold in cans, or sometimes boxes and tetra packs. The main ingredient in these products is water. If the fat content is 17%, it is called “coconut milk.” If the fat content is 24%, it is called “coconut cream.” But most of what you are purchasing is water. Coconut Cream Concentrate, on the other hand, has NO water, and is pure coconut. Unlike the commercial varieties, it also contains ALL the fiber of the coconut. Pure, dried coconut contains more fiber per gram than even oat bran! This fiber has been stripped out of commercial coconut milks and coconut creams. Also, almost all commercial coconut milks and creams have additives to prevent the water from separating from the coconut oil, and also have sulfites added to keep it white longer. Sometimes these additives are so small, that the FDA does not require them to list them on their labels as ingredients. Coconut Cream Concentrate, however, contains NO additives and NO preservatives at all: it is 100% natural coconut made from certified organic Philippine coconuts grown without pesticides or fertilizers. Coconut Cream Concentrate comes packaged in 1 pint or 1 quart glass jars.

Coconut Cream ConcentrateTM

Ingredients: 100% Pure Coconut!
Nothing else!”

Pretty cool, right? It’s very comforting to me to know that I can trust Tropical Traditions to sell REAL products and REAL food, not fake, factory-made preservatives and sweeteners. It’s awesome, and I highly recommend you support them in their efforts, as will I.

Before I continue on with my review, I’d also like to thank Tropical Traditions for their incredible generosity. The jar you see in the picture above is the exact jar I received to sample: the HUGE 32 oz jar filled with coconut concentrate. They could’ve easily sent the 16 oz, since the purpose of it was for me to sample, but they didn’t, and I thank them for their kindness.

Okay, moving on with the review. 🙂

**Disclaimer: Tropical Traditions provided me with a free sample of this product to review, and I was under no obligation to review it if I so chose.  Nor was I under any obligation to write a positive review or sponsor a product giveaway in return for the free product.**

Taste: Oh, gosh. It is SO GOOD. It tastes delicious and has an awesome coconut flavor. The Coconut Cream Concentrate is naturally sweet and I absolutely adore it. I could probably eat the whole jar at once actually, but that wouldn’t be good, so I won’t.

Consistency: When I got it, the oil had separated from the cream, so I had oil on the top and harder, more-solid concentrate on the bottom. If you look closely at the picture I posted above, you can see the line which separates the oil and the concentrate. There’s an instructional video on how to stir it the oil back in, but after trying both the oil and the concentrate, I decided not to do that. The coconut oil on top was great, but the thick and yummy concentrate on the bottom is what I really loved. It reminded me a LOT of Artisana’s Coconut Butter. (More on that later.) As for the cream, I have experimented with mixing the concentrate and oil together. It produces a lovely, yummy cream (duh :P) that tastes good on everything. Basically, you can’t go wrong with this.

Overall: I LOVE the Coconut Cream Concentrate sooo much. If I could recommend ONE product to you on the Tropical Traditions website, it would be this one. Seriously. If you stir together the concentrate and the oil, you’ll get a yummy, delicious cream, but if you leave it separate, you get to have some coconut oil AND coconut concentrate. It’s a win-win, and I really, really love it. ❤

TT Coconut Cream Concentrate vs. Artisana Coconut Butter:
Taking all things into consideration (price, taste and overall value), I will be purchasing the Coconut Cream Concentrate from now on. They tasted practically identical, and I really love that you get some coconut oil with the CCC. Another thing I like about it is that it comes in a huge 32 oz jar size, whereas Artisana’s largest size is 16 oz. You may be thinking “why on earth would someone want that much coconut concentrate anyway?” but it seriously is THAT good. Plus, the CCC is on sale right now, so you can get a 16 oz jar for $11 or a 32 oz jar for $20. That’s a KILLER deal, considering Artisana’s CB costs $23 for a 16 oz.

So there you have it folks! Tropical Traditions Coconut Cream Concentrate (TTCCC) is AMAZING and I highly recommend you go order a jar right now. While you’re at it, during the check-out look for the box that says “How did you hear of us?” Select “Referred by friend” and don’t forget to enter THIS code: 6008630 You’ll get a free book about coconut oil that includes information, stories and a ton of recipes/ways to incoporate it into your diet. What a deal. 😉

I hope you enjoyed my review, and thanks for reading!

Kelsey 🙂

5 responses to “Tropical Traditions Coconut Cream Concentrate Review!

  1. Awesome review! I will be sure to keep at look out for this brand when I run out of my Artisana Coconut Buttah. 🙂

  2. How do I use the concentrate when recipe calls for coconut milk or cream?

    • Hi Kyra!

      Coconut Cream Concentrate would NOT be an okay replacement for coconut milk. Coconut milk is more liquid-y and is the consistency of skim milk. As for the cream, I’m not sure. It should be a 1:1 sub? It all depends on the recipe, how much and what kind of cream it calls for.

  3. how do I use the concentrate when recipe calls for coconut milk or cream

  4. well written blog. Im glad that I could find more info on this. thanks

Leave a Reply

