Whipped Oatmeal & a Huge Peanut Butter Rant!

Before I begin my blog, I have something important to announce:

Please enter Ashlei‘s contest! She’s giving away a HUUGE box of Endangered Species dark chocolate that I’m hoping to win looks awesome! Yum. πŸ™‚

Thank you. Continuing on.

Sunday was a cool day. Why? Because I figured out a totally awesome new way to cook my oatmeal. I mean, church was great too, but I was really stoked about this new method.

I call it Whipped Oatmeal. I know I didn’t come up with it; I’ve heard some variations about using bananas and cooking them in, but this focuses more on how you cook the oatmeal itself.

Now I don’t know about you, but I was always one of those people that just boiled the water, poured it over the oatmeal in a bowl and let it sit. I will NEVER do that again though, now that I know how to create fluffy, pudding-like oatmeal. I’ve been converted to the ways of Whipped Oatmeal and I am never turning back.

It would’ve been smart to take pictures, but I had no idea what I was doing or how it would turn out or if it would even make a difference, so I didn’t bother.

Anyway, the basic idea is that you..

Whipped Oatmeal

  • Put your liquid in a pan on the stove and heat it up over medium heat, but DON’T let it boil.
  • Just before it starts boiling, add your oatmeal, wheat germ, protein powder, cocoa powder, etc. and stir it in. DON’T remove it from the stove top and DON’T add any sort of liquids like coconut oil or any sort of extract. Add only the dry ingredients.
  • As soon as it’s stirred together, get a whisk and whisk the oatmeal vigorously, similar to how you beat eggs. Remember, it should still be on the stove top and should be simmering/boiling at this point. Keep whisking away while it’s boiling and let it thicken up.
  • Once the liquid has been absorbed and it’s nice and thick, (it should really be quite thick and slightly fudgey in texture) remove from heat and spoon it into your bowl.

Oh goodness, it was wayy yummy! I couldn’t believe I’d never tried this before and I was shocked that something so average could be made into something so spectacular.

A close-up so you can see just how fudgey and thick it really was. It was almost like eating chocolate oatmeal cookie dough. Mmm.

Now you may be wondering why I said not to add any liquids or extracts. To be honest, I don’t know, other than the fact that I tried this method again yesterday but added some coconut oil, coconut extract and a splash of vanilla during the cooking.The results weren’t NEARLY the same, and I was quite disappointed.

So disappointed actually, that I didn’t even bother to take a close-up of this bowl. It turned out like regular oatmeal (okay, maybe it was a little thicker thanks to the whisking) and I was left contemplating what could’ve gone wrong. I did everything the exact same way with the exception of the added liquids, so that’s what it must’ve been.

So, please try this method of cooking your next bowl of oatmeal, don’t add extra liquid, and let me know how it turns out! πŸ™‚

For lunch on Sunday I had Taco Salad. Pretty for the picture:

Messy for consumption:

In this salad was mixed greens, carrots, chopped celery, a seasoned brown rice/Morningstar crumbles combo and salsa. It was very, very yummy.

For dessert, as I said in the last post, my family and I had the last three slices of my birthday pie.

Oh so good. I will miss that pie, and I look forward to making it again soon. πŸ˜›

Oh yeah, I also cracked open the coconut my friend Ben’s family gave me for my birthday. They know me too well. πŸ˜›

Draining it of the water, which is, as you know, my favorite part. πŸ™‚

On Monday my breakfast was the aforementioned chocolate/coconut oatmeal failure, along with at least half of this mango, which was also given to me by Ben’s family.

This was probably the best mango I have EVER eaten, no joke. It was sooo delicious and I had to restrain myself from eating the whole thing. I called my family in and offered some to them, but I probably ended up consuming at LEAST half of it anyway. Oops. πŸ˜›

Lunch consisted of kale chips made with olive oil and garlic salt and an Italian “Meatball” Sandwich, Kelsey-style.

Kelsey’s Open-Faced Italian “Meatball” Sandwich

Ingredients:

  • Two slices of bread (only one is pictured because I’d all ready eaten the other. :P)
  • 1/4-1/2 cup chunky marinara sauce
  • 1/4 cup Morningstar crumbles
  • Spices to taste: garlic powder, onion powder, italian seasonings, oregano, etc.
  • Optional: Parmesan cheese (I didn’t use)

Directions:

Put enough water in a small pan to cover the bottom of it. Place the crumbles in a pan and heat it over medium heat until it starts to simmer. Add the spices and seasonings, stir them in and wait for water to absorb.
Stir in marinara sauce and let it heat up with the seasoned crumbles.
Meanwhile, put two pieces of bread in the toaster. I prefer mine very lightly toasted, but you can toast yours as dark as you want. (The reasoning behind toasting the bread is so the crumble/sauce combo doesn’t make the bread soggy.)
Spoon the “meat” sauce over the bread slices, top with optional parmesan and eat up!

Oh, and I MIGHT have had some of this on the side to get in my fats…

But I’ll never tell. πŸ˜‰

By the way, I find myself having a huge problem with peanut butter lately. What is that problem, exactly?

The fact that I’m addicted to it.

I’ve never been much of a chocolate girl. (All though I guess my recipes don’t really showcase that fact too well, huh? :P) Some ladies crave it like a drug, but thankfully I don’t have that problem. In fact, I could never eat chocolate again for the rest of my life and I’d be perfectly fine. (Don’t kill me, Katie!) Peanut butter, however… well, that’s a completely different story.

I love it. So much. My lack of chocolate craving is taken care of by my peanut butter craving. I need peanut butter in my life. There’s just something about it that is so… ahhh. Heaven.

Now do NOT try to tell me that that does not look heavenly, because it does, and if you disagree, you are a fool. πŸ˜›

I have to be careful though, because my love for it can quickly take me overboard. I try to stick to 2 TBSP or less a day, and when I’m measuring it out that’s not a problem. It’s when the jar is open for a recipe and I have a spoon in hand that it becomes problematic. I justify by saying “I just want a little bit. There. That’s not even 1/2 a teaspoon,” but that “not even 1/2 a teaspoon” can be doubled and tripled, and before you know it, I’ve consumed 1.5 teaspoons or more. That doesn’t seem like a lot, and it isn’t, but if I have a couple of those “1/2 tsp x 3” sessions two or three times a day… yeah. It adds up. Thankfully I’ve never gone seriously overboard, but it’s still something a girl’s gotta watch for. πŸ™‚ Okay, peanut butter rant OVER.

Where was I? Oh, right. Food. That isn’t peanut butter. My bad.

I ate the sandwich thing at about 4:30, so at 7:30 I had a handful size of this

(brown rice/crumbles/veggie stir fry)

and this.

(protein shake made with 1 cup unsweetened chocolate almond breeze, 2 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder, my last 1/2 scoop of chocolate protein powder, ice and 1 tbsp peanut butter, 3/4 of which was in the drink and 1/4 of which was on the top. Whew, that was a mouthful.)

Before I go, I want to quickly tell you about my coconut milk making adventure. It wasn’t really an adventure, but whatever. πŸ˜›

First, I cut all the meat out of the shell and put it in the blender.

ThenΒ  I added just enough hot water to cover the coconut and blended it up.

I strained it over this…

And got this!

(source)

Sorry, I just keep forgetting to take pictures of long processes like these. My bad. πŸ˜›

The milk was very yummy! I enjoyed it a lot. Stay tuned for a post about what I did with the fibrous squeezing “pulp.” πŸ™‚

Question of the Day: What is your weakness? What do you LOOOVE? Chocolate? Sweet potatoes? Cake? Almond butter? Obviously for me it’s peanut butter, but there are others. I mentioned before that I really love frosting and frozen yogurt, so I have to be careful around those. Let me know please! I’m really curious.

Kelsey πŸ™‚

8 responses to “Whipped Oatmeal & a Huge Peanut Butter Rant!

  1. I entered that give away as well! I cant wait for the winner to be announced!!
    Your salad looked soo good, you seem very crafty in the kitchen, I havent mastered this skill yet. haha im working on it though i must learn before its time to move out! AHH
    I usually have tddy PB have you ever tried that??
    Hmm i wouldnt really say i have a “weakness” but i love love love fresh berries!!!! If i could get all my nutirents from just those i totally would! ❀ ❀

    • Me either! It’s very exciting. πŸ™‚

      Aw, thank you! It was very yummy, if I do say so myself. πŸ˜› Oh, I’m sure you’ll get there, especially if you keep up with peoples’ blogs. They give great ideas and you can just run with them. πŸ™‚

      I’ve never tried that before.. is it different from normal (natural) peanut butter?

  2. Kelsey you rock! Totally love how you linked! (I added you to my blogroll by the way!! Because I love your blog!) πŸ™‚

    My weakness is definitely nut butters (almond, peanut, sunflower seed…you name it, I love it! But only the good kinds of course!)

    And yeah, coconut water is my favorite part too πŸ™‚

    • Haha aw thank you!! I’m so glad! That means a lot to me. πŸ™‚

      Question: how do you do a blogroll on WordPress? I can’t figure it out. :/

      You know, I can’t say I’m overly adventerous in my different kinds of nut butter. I’ve only ever tried peanut, almond and cashew. What’s sunflower seed like?

  3. Pingback: My First Product Review! « CleanTeenKelsey

  4. traynharder23

    pb and almond butter are MY WEAKNESS! id o the same thing- keep taking little bites…and it adds up! it does!

    lol.

  5. Pingback: MIA: Meals In Action « CleanTeenKelsey

  6. Peanut Butter is AMAZING! πŸ˜‰

    xoxo
    Kathleen

Leave a Reply

