I’m 16!

Yes, that is right! My birthday was Friday, the 26th, and I am an old 16-year-old now. Pretty crazyyy stuff. πŸ˜›

Sorry for my lack of posts; I’ve been camping! Yes, real camping, with tents and everything. It was soooo great and I had a blast. Some pics of me and my friends…

Playing volleyball.

The self-timer works miracles!

My little brother and the doggies.

My Pomeranian, Schatzie. (Shot-see)

Me and my girl, Chansey. πŸ™‚

Yes, she IS named after the Pokemon, if you were wondering. My older brother was obsessed with Pokemon at the time we got her, and since we didn’t get the dog he wanted, he got to name her. πŸ˜›

Oh yeah! My guy friends (left to right) Landon, Ben and Burke played/sang the song “Kelsey” by Metro Station for me on my birthday. It was so sweet and made me smile a lot! They also gave me three roses:

Gorgeous.

A cool bridge.

Pretty trees.

Oh yeah! I got asked to prom by my friend, Ben!

We drove to a super pretty pavilion and they blindfolded me…

then led me up the steps.

I took off my blindfold and….

The sign said “Kelsey, will you go with me to prom?” then beneath it to the left side was where I would answer “no.” It had a super complicated calculus equation, followed by the equals sign, and a spot for me to fill in the answer if I wanted to say no. On the right, however, was the “yes” side, with a very simple 2 + 2 = __ for me to fill in. Of course I said yes and gave him a big hug.

It was really sweet of him! It’s not my prom actually; it’s his up in Houston, so I’ll get to go to both his prom AND mine. Awesome.

In other news, it IS possible to eat clean while camping! I didn’t document my food too much, cause I kinda forgot, but I didn’t manage the following pictures.

We made a Sun Harvest run before camp to get the food we needed, and I saw this there!

Now you KNOW you’re weird when a jar of Green SuperFood excites you. I didn’t get it though: look at that price tag! haha.

We also picked up this:

A container of incredibly delicious ruby-red strawberries. They were extremely sweet and were gone in a pinch.

I tried my first Larabar, too! I found the right aisle and started looking like a mad woman for all the wonderful flavors I’d heard about, but I couldn’t find them. I got really excited when I saw a box that said “Cashew Cookie” but I picked it up only to find that it was completely empty. Ah!

Oh well. Cinnamon Roll was really yummy, too.

I split it with my mom and we both really enjoyed it. We also picked up Ginger Snap and Pistachio. I’ll let you know what I think. πŸ™‚

Camp food:

Birthday Breakfast Oatmeal. This was basically my typical oatmeal with

  • 1/3 cup oats cooked in 2/3 cup water
  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • About 1.5 tsp peanut butter
  • 1/2 sliced banana (I ate the other half by itself :D)

Since we were silly and didn’t bring a pot to boil water, my sweet little brother microwaved my oatmeal (w/o PB & banana) for me so I wouldn’t have to do it. It was really nice of him.

Lunch:

This was the best sandwich EVER! It was made with two (small) pieces of whole wheat bread, some avocado, chopped tomatoes, seasoned black beans, bean sprouts, alfalfa sprouts and red pepper hummus, finished off with a big leaf of lettuce.

SO GOOD. I loved it so much.

I really wanted to have something yummy on my birthday, but I didn’t know what to bring. The only kind of cake I really like is Costco/Sam’s cake, and we’re going to be having one of those in two weeks for my birthday party, so I didn’t want one on my birthday.

I decided to make Tofu Chocolate Mousse pie, and boy was it delicious.

I used these chocolate chips that I found at Sun Harvest and I was really really excited. At first I had no idea what “grain sweetened” meant, but I turned over the bag and realized that they were sweetened with malted barley and corn, not sugar. That’s exactly what I was looking for (chocolate chips not sweetened with sugar. I was hoping they had stevia-sweetened or something similar) and it was very cool. Check it out: http://www.worldpantry.com/cgi-bin/ncommerce3/ProductDisplay?prmenbr=172832&prrfnbr=213701 Clean, right? As far as I can tell, anyway.

I melted the chocolate chips in a double broiler and combined everything in the Vita-Mix. Luckily I was able to snap a pretty picture before the colors mixed.

Mmmm.

I made an oatmeal crust based off of this recipe, because the only whole-wheat flour I have is pastry flour, which doesn’t taste right if it’s not baked.

I modified the recipe a little bit by grinding up around 1 3/4 cup oats into oat flour, adding 1 TBSP agave and using coconut oil instead of the canola oil. It tasted really good even on its own, and my mom wants to make it again as an oatmeal cookie substitute. Maybe next time I’ll add some raisins or chocolate chips.

Anyway, this was the resulting pie.

Look at that fudgey goodness!

Yeah.. I ate every bite of my slice. It wasΒ  so, so good and CLEAN! Yay! It ended up having a richer, dark chocolate taste which I was completely happy with. I didn’t want to sweeten it anymore than I had to and I think it turned out really well. I offered some to my friends to try, and they thought it was yummy even though they’re not the biggest dark chocolate fans. Cool, huh?

All right, I have a confession to make.

I didn’t eat that pie on my birthday. I ate it the day after, on the 27th, for my breakfast. Want to know why?

Because when I said that the only cake I like is Costco/Sam’s cake… well… that was a lie. In most circumstances it is true, but I forgot one major thing.

That, my friends, is Tres Leches cake. (source)

There’s a bakery down the road from my friend Ben’s house in Houston called El Horno Monterrey, and they make the BEST tres leches cake I have ever had in my LIFE. It’s rich, but not too sweet, and the balance of milk in the cake is perfect: not too much, not too little. I love it so much, and Ben’s family brought me a slice as a surprise birthday gift!

It was so incredibly kind of them and I appreciated it a ton. The cake was delicious, and I shared the bar with my little brother and mom.

That left my tofu mousse pie for breakfast like I said, (hey, it DID include protein, carbs and fat!) and I plan on having my last piece tomorrow after church. Then it’ll be gone and I can begin the week treat-free on Monday. πŸ™‚

Okay, this is getting really long, I apologize. Thanks for reading!

Question of the Day: Do you like cake? If so, what’s your favorite kind? If not, what do you prefer to have on your birthday? I’m curious!

Kelsey πŸ™‚

P.S. I realize that this blog is kinda all over the place, and I really apologize. My sentences aren’t structured well and my words are kind of repetitive, but I am beyond tired! haha. It’s 2:45 AM and I really need to go to bed so… yeah. πŸ˜›

6 responses to “I’m 16!

  1. What an awesome birthday and way for him to ask you to prom!! That’s so exciting! πŸ˜€ Will you be getting your license anytime soon or waiting awhile?

    Love your pups too! So cute!!

    Cinnamon Roll is such a great larabar, as are gingersnap and pistachio (though I wish it had a stronger pistachio flavor). Coconut cream pie will always be my fave though <333

    P.S. my blog is always all over the place too! πŸ˜€

    • It was way nice! I wish, but unfortunately I don’t even have my permit. I spent days studying for the test, but apparently I have to take the test AND order a packet that teaches me how to drive… blah. 😦 haha.

      I picked up coconut cream pie today! I can’t wait to try it!

  2. Happy be-lated birthday, Kelsey! I am so glad you had a wonderful time camping. And your friend is just TOO sweet! I love the way he asked you to prom….aww πŸ™‚

    That’s too bad they were all out of the cashew cookie lara bars…that’smy favorite flavor!

  3. Pingback: Whipped Oatmeal & a Huge Peanut Butter Rant! « CleanTeenKelsey

  4. Pingback: Happy (Belated) Mother’s Day! « CleanTeenKelsey

  5. Pingback: Words + Pictures + My Room | CleanTeenKelsey

Leave a Reply

