Two New Yummy Cherry-Chocolate-Coconut Recipes!

This is another speedy post that I’m going to quickly write, because I just HAVE to tell you about the two new recipes I came up with yesterday. They both included chocolate, cherry and coconut, and they were both DELICIOUS.

Why the sudden cherry spree, you may ask? Because this is sitting in my outside freezer:

Yes, that is 4 huge, 14 lb. boxes of dark, sweet, pitted cherries from a fruit farm in Ohio. Two times a year (Spring and Fall) this farm does a big shipment of frozen fruit, and luckily one of the shipments comes here! They have all sorts of frozen fruit: apples, peaches, strawberries, huge blueberries, raspberries, blackberries, marionberries, and of course, cherries.

This isn’t your typical Wal-Mart freezer section fruit, either. This frozen fruit is INCREDIBLE, especially the cherries. They’re so big and sweet, and they’re all ready pitted for easy snackage. I literally look forward to the time of year when we get this stuff. Ahh. ❤

Not a great picture, I apologize. It seriously doesn’t do the fruit justice.

So, in a desperate need to eat more cherries, I created the following…

(Okay, so this isn’t really my picture. It was so yummy that I drank it all and forgot to take a picture, but I promise it looked JUST like this, without the chocolate swirls.)

C³: Cherry Chocolate Coconut Breakfast Shake

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cup Unsweetened Chocolate Almond Breeze
  • 2/3 cup frozen cherries
  • 2 TBSP cocoa powder
  • 2 scoops chocolate protein powder
  • 2 tsp – 1 TBSP coconut oil, melted
  • 2-3 handfuls of ice
  • 1/8-1/2 cup water (begin with 1/8 cup and gradually increase until it reaches the consistency you like)

Throw it all in the blender and blend away!

Makes TWO 2-cup servings, or 4 cups total.

Ohh man, I swear, this was so yummy. I cannot wait to make it again. It didn’t taste like a breakfast protein shake at all. In fact, it felt like I was drinking a high-calorie, high-fat milkshake. Please, please make it, and then please, please let me know what you think!

Still feeling the cherry-chocolate-coconut combo, I whipped this up for my evening snack:

C-To-The-Fourth: Cherry Chocolate Coconut Cheesecake

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup plain, nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 2 TBSP cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp – 1 TBSP coconut oil, melted
  • 7 dark, sweet frozen cherries
  • Optional: Shredded coconut

Combine the first four ingredients in a bowl, then top with the cherries and optional shredded coconut. Eat up!

This, too, was so yummy. I will be making it again ASAP. My mom is a certified chocoholic, and after one bite she exclaimed “It almost tastes like chocolate cheesecake!” Right she was, except I think it was BETTER than chocolate cheesecake. It was the perfect, delicious, protein-packed “dessert.”

Well, that’s it for today! Stay tuned for my review of Jay Robb protein powder vs. SunWarrior protein powder.

Kelsey 🙂

2 responses to “Two New Yummy Cherry-Chocolate-Coconut Recipes!

  1. Chocolate and cherries is such a fantastic combination 🙂

  2. wow everything looks so good

Leave a Reply

