I must be (coco)NUTS.

This post is 100% dedicated to coconut, so if you are not fond of the spherically shaped fruit, (it is technically a fruit, right? Or is it a seed? I don’t know) you will probably not be fond of this post. Almost everything I ate this week contained some sort of coconut. CoconutButterCoveredKatie would be proud. 🙂

The coconut.

After enjoying a mature coconut, we tried a young coconut. I liked it a lot better, because I got to drink the delicious water.

It was over a cup of water and it tasted sooo good! The fam wasn’t crazy about it, but I was okay with that. More for me! 😛

Coconut water is a nutritional powerhouse, if you didn’t know.

  • Low in Carbs
  • 99% Fat Free
  • Low in sugars
  • Coconut Water is more nutritious than whole milk – Less fat and NO cholesterol.
  • Coconut Water is More Healthy than Orange Juice – Much lower calories.
  • Coconut Water is Better than processed baby milk – It contains lauric acid, which is present in human mother’s milk.
  • Coconut water is naturally sterile – Water permeates though the filtering husk.
  • Coconut water is a universal donor – Its identical to human blood plasma.
  • Coconut Water is a Natural Isotonic Beverage – The same level we have in our blood.
  • Coconut water has saved lives in 3rd world countries thru Coconut IV.

“Coconut water is the very stuff of Nature, biologically Pure, full of Natural Sugars, Salts, and Vitamins to ward off fatigue and is the next wave of energy drinks BUT natural”, according to Mortin Satin, Chielf of the United Nation’s Food & Agriculture Organization.

  • Coconut water contains more potassium (at about 294 mg) than most sports drinks (117 mg) and most energy drinks.
  • Coconut water has less sodium (25mg) where sports drinks have around 41mg and energy drinks have about 200 mg.
  • Coconut water has 5mg of Natural Sugars where sports and energy drinks range from 10-25mg of Altered Sugars.
  • Coconut water is very high in Chloride at 118mg, compared to sports drinks at about 39mg.

Okay, sorry. I just think it’s exciting. 😛

More  coconut:

*tear* That was the last of my coconut butter. ^ 😦

But thankfully I got this baby from the Sun Harvest near my house:

Not quite the same, but still good. We looked for coconut butter, but it appears that Whole Foods (AKA super-expensive-store-on-the-other-side-of-town) is the only store that carries it. Agh. 😦

Still, I put my coconut oil to good use in the following dishes:

Whole wheat bread spread with CO. Not really a “dish,” but whatever. 😛

Baked tofu and veggies that I sauteed in coconut oil.

My dinner yesterday was amazing, too. I sauteed onions and 1/2 clove of garlic in coconut oil:

Then added some of this to the pan:

Hence the red color of the onions above. This was definitely the star of the meal. It gave it the perfect Indian flavor I was craving and made it soo yummy!

Look, see! Coconut!

Stats are a little high in large quantities, but I only used a couple tablespoons which adds less than 50 calories and less than 4g fat. (8 tablespoons in a 1/2 cup :D)

I threw some beans in the mixture and topped it over brown rice…

To get the lovely following dish!

I ended up topping it with a drizzle of greek yogurt. Oh my gosh, this was sooo good. I could eat this forever and not get tired of it, I think. I made a variation for my mom by skipping the black beans (she’s cutting out carbs other than vegetables and the occasional 1/2 cup of brown rice) and mixing her onion/sauce combo with some canned chicken. She gave it a rave review, as did my little brother. My mom will usually eat anything I cook and say it’s good, but this time all I heard for several minutes was “Oh, Kelsey, this is so good! Oh my gosh. I love this. We HAVE to make this again.” Success? I think so. 🙂

For dessert that night I made Averie‘s Coconut Oil Chocolate.

First I melted 1 TBSP coconut oil and 1 TBSP agave. (Original recipe calls for 1.5 TBSP agave, but I cut it back a little since I prefer bitter, dark chocolate.)

Next I stirred in 1/2 tsp vanilla and 2.5 TBSP cocoa powder. (Original recipe calls for 2 TBSP, but again, I prefer dark chocolate, so I added more.)

Poured it into a plastic wrap covered container and froze for a couple hours!

It was sooo good. I loved it, and my mom did too. Next time I’ll cut the agave back to .5 TBSP and maybe add even more cocoa, as it was still a little too sweet for me. It was delicious though and we will be making it again soon!

Well, that concludes this coconutty post. Hopefully I haven’t made you too tired of the stuff… like that’s possible. 😛

Question of the Day: What is YOUR favorite way to use coconut? Oil, butter, water, or just eating it straight? Let me know!

Kelsey 🙂

7 responses to “I must be (coco)NUTS.

  1. Hey! Just found your blog from a link off Katie’s. It’s really cute. I’m vegan, and a big fan of whole foods and good eating too. I’m actually moving towards more raw foods, and using food combining to really enhance my nutrient intake. have you thought about high-raw as the sort of next level of clean eating?

    • Hi! Thank you so much! 🙂 That’s awesome; I’ve done some experimenting with veganism and I really like it. I’ve also thought about being raw, but I don’t think I could do it. You have to cut out SO many food groups and it’s too intense for me right now, especially since I’m a growing teenager and I don’t buy the groceries. However, I do try to incorporate raw foods into my diet and I seize every opportunity to eat raw as opposed to cooked. Have you fully committed to raw-ism, or is it a process for you?

  2. I love coconut in all forms! In fact I just made some raw macaroons with shredded coconut and coconut oil! Coconut oil on hot oatmeal is one of my favorite things. It’s also really really tasty on toast, and I love the water after working out to rehydrate with 🙂 Now if only they were easier to open, right? 😉 Great post!

  3. If you want to see my macaroons: http://wp.me/pJv8K-8Q (My newest blog post!) ….Sorry to leave links in your comments…I’m a little coconut obsessed 😉 lol

  4. Pingback: My First Product Review! « CleanTeenKelsey

  5. I totally made your Coconut Oil Chocolate as soon as you posted it! 😀 I made it again and again. 😀 YUM!

    xoxo
    Kathleen

Leave a Reply

