Week-Long Post Part 2; Tons of Original Recipes! Oatmeal & French Toast; Guilty Pleasures.

Welcome to part 2 of the week-long catch up post! This post is chocked full of new recipes that I really hope you’ll enjoy. If you make any of them, please let me know! It will honestly make my day. 😛 Picking up where we left off…

On Wednesday I decided to be creative. I was really craving apples & peanut butter, but we’re seriously lacking fruit in my house right now (because I ate it all… woops :P). Trying to make the best of what we have, (dried fruit and frozen blueberries) I created the following:

PB&A Oatmeal

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 2 TBSP wheat germ
  • 1/2 TBSP ground flax seed
  • A little more than 2/3 cup water (or as much as you like)
  • 20g freeze-dried apple slices (I didn’t measure with a measuring cup, but my guess is that it was about 1/4 cup)
  • 1/2 scoop cake batter/vanilla protein powder
  • Cinnamon
  • Splash of vanilla
  • 1 TBSP PB, separated
  • Optional: Sweetener, to taste

Process:

Bring water to boil, remove from heat, and add oats and wheatgerm. Stir in flax seed and add 3/4 of the apple slices. Cover and let cook for a few minutes while you get/measure the other ingredients.

Freeze-dried apples softening in the pot.

Hanging out with the oats.

Once the oatmeal is cooked, stir in the protein powder.

Next, stir in the cinnamon, vanilla, optional sweetener and 1/2 TBSP peanut butter.

Spoon into serving bowl, place remaining 1/2 TBSP peanut butter on top, and sprinkle remaining 1/4 apple slices on the top. Finish off with a shake of cinnamon and enjoy!

This was ohhh so yummy! I loved it. It was a delicious breakfast and I will be eating it again soon! I did NOT stir in the last 1/2 tbsp peanut butter, because I’m finding that when I don’t stir things in, I taste them better. If that is not the case for you, feel free to stir it all together. 🙂

Wednesday is our craziest day of the week, and we’re usually gone all day, so I had to pack a cooler. Into it went…

3 hardboiled eggs,

shelled edamame,

a bag of freshly garden-grown spinach,

hummus and fat-free plain greek yogurt.

We planned on picking up a loaf of whole wheat bread from Great Harvest on the way, hence the lack of whole-grain carbs.

While at Great Harvest, I of course had to take advantage of the free slice of bread they give you. I chose their Burly Loaf, which the lady told me is made with whole wheat, millet, barley, oats, sunflower seeds, etc.

Umm, it was absolutely DELICIOUS. It was so hearty and I loved it. I wish we had bought a loaf of this instead of the normal whole wheat! (Don’t worry Whole Wheat, I still love you.)

After our crazy busy day of ballroom dance and other things, we went looking for a place to hold my Sweet 16 birthday party. I’m turning 16 in less than 2 weeks! Can you believe that? March 26th is the day. I cannot wait!

The place we looked at had a really cool bridge thing, so we had an impromptu (I love that word) photoshoot.

Me being silly, hanging on the poles.

My little brother, Dakota, and me.

Please disregard his serious little face. I kept saying “Dakota, smile! You look like you’re mad!” He responded with “I look like a dork when I smile! My pictures are always better when I look serious.” He was quite set in his ways, so… yeah. Haha.

Anyway, we found a location for my party!

A beautiful, double-decked pavilion at a park. It has a gorgeous stream/river surrounding it and is really secluded. I absolutely love it. 🙂

For dinner that night, I had a pile of asparagus (not a large one, I know) and a Morning Star BBQ riblet. Mostly clean, but not all the way. I was extremely tired though and I needed something I could just throw in the oven.

I hadn’t had very much fruit that day, (remember our lack of fresh fruit? :P) so I decided to make “ice cream” out of frozen blueberries and cabbage. It was too thin to call ice cream, but it was too thick to call a smoothie. Thus, Blueberry Mush was born.

Ingredients:

  • 5 handfuls of frozen blueberries (about 2 1/2 cups?)
  • 3 large cabbage leaves
  • 6 large spinach leaves (I did NOT use baby spinach, but you can if you want to and just increase the amount used)
  • 1/2 cup freeze-dried strawberries
  • 2 1/2 dates or apricots
  • handful of raisins
  • 1-2 TBSP unsweetened almond milk

Throw everything in your blender and blend away!

You can substitute any combination of frozen/fresh/dried fruit for the frozen and dried fruit. I just used what I had on hand. 🙂 It was the perfect veggie/fruit filled “dessert!” 🙂

Thursday was Dakota’s 12th birthday, so he wanted cinnamon raisin french toast and eggs. My family used store-bought cinnamon raisin bread and whole eggs, but I decided to make a clean version…

Kelsey’s Clean Cinnamon Raisin French Toast

Ingredients:

  • 1 slice whole wheat bread (I used my yummy Great Harvest loaf)
  • 3 TBSP liquid egg whites
  • Cinnamon
  • 1 TBSP Unsweetened Almond Breeze (or other milk)
  • 9-12 raisins

Process:

Turn stove on and begin heating your pan up. Spray it with non-stick spray, or add a touch of olive oil and let it coat the pan.
Combine liquid egg whites, almond breeze and several shakes of cinnamon in a wide dish or bowl (large enough to fit the bread in), then whisk them together with a fork.
Lay slice of bread in the egg whites, then quickly flip it over and soak the other side.
Place the bread on the pan, then carefully press the raisins into the exposed, not yet cooked side of the bread. Because it’s soggy, it makes it easier to get the raisins in. Add a couple more shakes of cinnamon to the uncooked side, then flip it over. Add more cinnamon to that side, and flip the toast until it’s cooked and lightly browned.
Put it on your plate, and enjoy!

Optional toppings include coconut butter (DELICIOUS), peanut butter, clean butter, apple sauce, maple syrup for a treat, etc.

My french toast alongside the remaining egg white soak, scrambled with cabbage.

My delicious toast covered in coconut butter. Honestly, I cannot even tell you how yummy this french toast was. It had a thin crunchy layer on the outside, but the inside was soft and cinnamon raisin-y! Ahh. I think a lot of its deliciousness had to do with our yummy bread, so use the freshest, closest to homemade bread you can find. It truly makes all the difference.

Since it was Dakota’s birthday, pretty much whatever he said went, haha. He wanted self-serve frozen froyo (aka my OBSESSION) so we got it.

Yes, believe it or not, there IS some froyo hiding beneath that mound of fruit and nuts. In this one was pineapple, blueberries, strawberries, kiwi, mango, raspberries, blackberries, pecans and almonds.

Through out the whole time I’ve been eating clean, giving up my self-serve frozen yogurt has been the hardest part. I know it’s okay to have it every now and then, but this past week I’ve gone a little overboard… I had it three times in 8 days. :/ Granted, there are far worse things to indulge in. I usually only get about 1/2-3/4 cup frozen yogurt each time and it’s nonfat, so it’s around 150 calories,  16-32g sugar, and a ton of fruit/nuts.

This was my cup a few days before. Basically the same as the other, and just as delicious. Have any of you ever had self-serve froyo? Oh my gosh, I love it so so much. It’s not good, really. :/ haha.

We went to Red Robin for his birthday dinner, and I ordered a veggie burger with tomatoes on a lettuce bun, no dressing, and a side of steamed broccoli instead of french fries. It was really good. 🙂 I was too hungry to take a picture though, sorry. 😛

This was his adorable little cake: two cupcakes side-by-side, decorated to look like a doggy. Isn’t it cute?!

…It tasted pretty good too. :/ I just had two small fork bites and a little bit of frosting. Frosting is my weakness, so I try to stay away from it as much as possible.

The next morning I made my french toast again, and I also had the most amazing eggs ever.

I sauteed spinach, kale, collard greens, tomatoes, broccoli and bok choy, then added 9 tbs liquid egg whites (I split it with my mom) which had been seasoned with onion powder, garlic salt, dill powder and a Greek seasoning called Tzatziki. (It’s different from the cucumber/yogurt dressing you’re probably familiar with.)

Sounds pretty good, but wanna know what made it AMAZING? The fact that I sauteed everything in lemon juice. This may be one of those common tricks that everyone uses, and maybe it’s not as innovative as I thought, but boy does it make it delicious! It kinda does what salt does where it brings out the flavors of everything. Usually I top my eggs with salsa or something, but this time they were so flavorful I didn’t have to add a single thing. Ah. So good.

After I was done with my eggs, I had one last bite of french toast waiting…

I saved it for last because it had the most coconut butter on it, lol. 😛 Maybe that’s weird, but I always seem to save my most favorite part for last.

Our dwindling jar of coconut butter. 😦

On Friday I was in a mad rush to a meeting, so I had to quickly come up with an easy protein/carb combo. For my carbs I made a green smoothie, and for my protein I made what I call a Power Protein Bowl.

  • 1/2 cup plain non-fat Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 scoop protein powder (I used cake batter flavored)
  • A sprinkle of fruit (I used dried)
  • Optional: A tablespoon of peanut butter would make this a complete meal, with carbs, protein and fats. 🙂

It was really good. Again, I didn’t stir it together because I get the flavors better when it’s not stirred. This whole bowl had over 20g of protein and not very many carbs, which is great considering I do best on a high protein, low carb diet.

Today for breakfast I had Strawberry Cheesecake Oatmeal:

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 2 TBSP wheat germ
  • 2/3 cup water
  • A little more than 1/8 cup plain nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 scoop protein powder (I used cake batter flavored)
  • 1 TBSP ground flax seed
  • Handful of freeze-dried strawberries

Process:

Cook oats and wheat germ in the water. Stir in yogurt, protein powder and flax seed, then top with freeze-dried strawberries. Yum! Tastes just like a healthy strawberry cheesecake. 🙂 You can use fresh strawberries if you like; freeze-dried is all I have though, and I actually prefer them in recipes over fresh strawberries as they’re more flavorful.

I had a green smoothie, too, which I didn’t take a picture of because it was not pretty. 🙂

After my breakfast, I went to help my friend with his Eagle Scout project. I worked outside pulling weeds, clearing gardens, planting flowers and laying down mulch for three hours, but it was super fun. Honestly, I didn’t want to leave. 😛

After, my friend Rachel picked me up and took me to lunch for my birthday. We went to a place called Froots that I’ve desperately been wanting to try. I got the Go-Go Veggie wrap with hummus instead of blue cheese crumbles, and it was absolutely delicious!

Spiffy plates, right? The wraps were great, too. Both Rachel and I couldn’t stop talking about how yummy our food was. 😛 My wrap had tofu, onions, tomatoes, sprouts, black olives, cucumbers, spinach and hummus all on a whole wheat tortilla. By the way, the cool drizzle and the container to the left is their balsamic vinaigrette. I asked for it on the side because I didn’t know how clean it was. By the way, everything in the wrap was raw and uncooked, including the tofu, so I didn’t have to worry about huge amounts of butter/oil making their way into my food. Yayy. 😛

Well, that sums up my super long week full of yummy food. If you actually read all that, I love you! haha. Seriously though, thanks for reading. I know that was long and possibly monotonous, so you, my friend, are a trooper. 🙂

Question of the Day 1: What are your guilty pleasures, now that you know mine? How often do you indulge?

Question of the Day 2: When eating a meal, do you often save the best part for last? Or do you follow the whole “life’s short, eat dessert first” mentality and eat the best part at the beginning?

Till next time,

Kelsey 🙂

3 responses to “Week-Long Post Part 2; Tons of Original Recipes! Oatmeal & French Toast; Guilty Pleasures.

  1. Pingback: Whipped Oatmeal & a Huge Peanut Butter Rant! « CleanTeenKelsey

  2. YAY! I found it!!!! 😉 Ok, your adding the Peanut Butter on top of your Oats and not stirring it in has CHANGED MY LIFE! 😀 I will never turn back again!

    xoxo
    Kathleen

Leave a Reply

