Ginormous Weekend Catch-Up Post

I began the day yesterday craving Katie’s Mounds Bar Pancakes. (Sorry I keep linking you over and over Katie, this will be the last post for a while, I promise! :D) So that is exactly what I made.

Batter: whole wheat flour, combo of choco protein powder and cocoa powder, mashed banana, one egg white, vanilla, a smidge of honey and non-dairy milk/water. Oh yeah, and a couple dark chocolate chips. πŸ˜€

The little cakes cooking on the stove.

What a lucky little jar of coconut butter to be surrounded by such yummy pancakes… or is it the other way around? πŸ˜›

Close-up.Β  Topping is coconut butter (duh :P), shredded, unsweetened coconut and two dark chocolate chips per pancake.

Oh my goodness, this was so good!! I loved it, and my mom did too. Thank you, Katie, for your wonderful recipe!

Quote of the day: As I was looking for the coconut butter to put on my pancakes, I asked “Hey Mom, where’s the coconut butter?” Her response? “…I put it in the cupboard so I wouldn’t have to stare at it.” hahahahah. I laughed so hard at that.

Later in the evening, I had my last basketball game of the season. It was tournament, so I was super nervous! My team played hard though.

(I’m in the red shorts)

Watching a free throw.

Attempting to block a shot.

We lost. By TWO POINTS. Aghh! It was single elimination, so it kinda stunk. We did, however, place 3rd in the region, which is pretty cool.

Saturday night I had this for dinner:

Black bean/brown rice/corn veggie burger from Tosca Reno’s Eat Clean Diet Cookbook, 3 slices roasted sweet potato mashed with a little coconut butter, and a big pile of steamed broccoli and asparagus.

Similar to the night before, but what can I say? It was delicious. πŸ™‚

Sweet potato mixed with coconut butter. So good! If you have never tried this combination, please do!

Then, I decided to whip up a batch of Katie’s Fudge Babies (I made version 2, Hot Cocoa Fudge Babies), again using peaches instead of dates because I have no dates.

1/4 cup cashews, a little less than 1/2 cup dried peaches, 1 T cocoa powder. That’s it!

These were, of course, very yummy, but I can’t wait to try them with dates. Unfortunately when you use dried peaches, all you taste is dried peaches lol. I ended up adding a smidgen of peanut butter and a couple slices of frozen banana in an attempt to cover the peach taste. It didn’t really work, haha. But still, they were yummy and I can only imagine how good they’ll be when I make them the way they’re supposed to be made. πŸ˜›

Oh yeah, I also made Katie’s raw, vegan cheesecake (Okay, that’s the last one, Katie! Sorry, I just wanna give credit where credit is due. :D) for dessert after my monthly 24-hour fast on Sunday.

This is my little (crust-less) serving in a bowl, topped with two slices of frozen banana and a shake of cocoa powder. Yes, that is a Tigger bowl. Don’t judge. πŸ™‚

Thanks so much for your delicious recipe, Katie! It was the perfect treat after my fast.

This is what I had for dinner, and for lunch the next day:

An incredibly DELICIOUS soup that my mom and I came up with. We don’t exactly have a name for it yet… I suggest you try it, and then give us some ideas! lol. Edit: We have a name. From hereon out it shall be known as Completely Delicious Mexican Soup. Why? Read the explanation after the recipe, please. πŸ™‚

Ingredients:

1 container roasted red pepper & tomato vegetable broth/soup
(This is similar to the one we used. Ours was a different brand, but this gives you an idea of what to look for)
1 can clean tomato soup
(This is what we used. Next time I’ll try to use a brand without milk and with less sugar.)
3 cups water
1 can drained, rinsed pinto beans
1 can drained, rinsed great northern/navy/cannellini
beans
1 cup frozen corn
(I’m totally guessing here. I just poured some corn into the pot until I thought it looked good, so add more/less to your liking.)
1/2 – 1 small chopped onion
1-2 handfulsΒ  sliced baby carrots
(I quick-steamed them in micro)
1 small can Ro*Tel
(not ENTIRELY clean; has one preservative at the end of the list. We didn’t have any fresh tomatoes though, so if you do, feel free to substitute one and fresh, chopped green chilies.)
1 tablespoon Blend It Up! Tortilla Soup seasoning
(For those of you that have had the tortilla soup at live Vita-Mix demos, this is the seasoning they use. We bought it back when we bought our blender years ago, and it tastes incredible! My guess is that most of you don’t have it, though, so feel free to substitute cumin, onion powder, garlic powder, chili powder, and paprika, all of which it contains.)
Optional ideas: Red/green peppers, cooked brown rice, chicken, celery, garlic clove, jalepeno, cilantro, (I know, I can’t believe I forgot it either)Β  tortilla chips, cheese, avocado, etc.

Simple Process:

Put all ingredients in a big pot and heat on the stove over medium-high heat. Eat up!

Oh my goodness, words cannot even describe how yummy this soup was! It has a little bit of a kick to it, which I really liked. My mom, who normally hates spicy food, liked it too. I’m a one-serving girl, but but by the time I was done with my bowl I wanted more. I was glad I restrained myself though, because I got to have it for lunch the next day. Ahh, so good. I will be making it again, all though next time I’ll probably add brown rice, use fresh tomatoes, peppers, and my good ol’ friend Mr. Cilantro. If I top it with avocado, it will be a complete meal: carbs from the rice/beans, protein from the beans, veggies from the broth/veggies and fat from the avocado. Yay. πŸ™‚

On second thought, after making that observation about it being a complete meal, I’ve come up with a name. COMPLETEly Delicious Mexican Soup. I like it. πŸ™‚

Anyway, that wraps up my ginormous weekend post. As soon as I get caught up with all my picture-posting and meal-typing, I promise my posts will be a lot smaller. Thanks for your patience, though. πŸ™‚

Till next time,

Kelsey πŸ™‚

5 responses to “Ginormous Weekend Catch-Up Post

  1. Wow Kelsey, you are AMAZING!
    P.S. I’m emailing you soon πŸ™‚

  2. Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

  3. Pingback: Week-Long Post Part 1; Chocolate, Apples & Pizza! « CleanTeenKelsey

  4. Pingback: Lotsa New Recipes… and Green Fudge Babies??? « Chocolate-Covered Healthy

  5. Hello, I love your article. This is a great site and I wanted to post a note to let you know, nice job! Thanks MiMi

    Louis Vuitton

    vuitton

Leave a Reply

