Introductory post. :)

Hello no one everyone!

My name is Kelsey and this is my WordPress, CleanTeenKelsey.

The name pretty much says it all: I’m a teenager living a Clean Diet. I’ve been doing it for about 2 months now, and I only wish I’d begun sooner! I feel great and I’m the healthiest I’ve ever been. (Please note, anytime the word “diet” is paired with the word “clean,” I’m referring to the food I put in my mouth; what I eat. Not a literal weight-loss diet.)

I was fairly overweight between the ages of 8-11, but little 11-year-old me decided to make a change. My mom and I went on a low-carb diet and exercised 5 days a week, then we eventually switched over to a low-calorie diet. I lost a good thirty pounds, (some of which was unnecessary) partially due to growing up and partially due to my dieting.

I’ve been a calorie-counter ever since, but calorie counting is not equal to healthy! Before I began clean eating, I consumed things that weren’t necessarily good for my body, even though they were low-calorie. (Think 60-calorie pudding, 120 calorie low-fat ice cream, I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter! spray, light processed cheese slices, etc.)

I thought I was eating relatively well, considering I was watching my portions, calories and fat, but in November of 2009 that all changed. I noticed I wasn’t feeling as good about myself as I should, and I was hugely lacking in energy. I felt icky and weighed down from all the added chemicals and preservatives in my food. I desperately wanted a way to eliminate them from my diet, but I didn’t know how, or even where to begin.

Enter The Eat-Clean Diet. Not sure what a clean diet is? In a nutshell, you avoid ALL processed, unnatural foods. White flour and white sugar are among the biggies, but that also includes any sort of chemicals or preservatives. Basically, I don’t eat anything my body wasn’t made to consume. So, what do I eat? Vegetables, fruit, whole grains and lean protein (not meat and lately less dairy. I’m a vegetarian experimenting with veganism). That includes whole grain breads & pasta, brown rice, oats, quinoa, beans, tofu, flax seed, nuts, natural nut butters, soy/almond milk, and eggs, cottage cheese and plain, low-fat yogurt when I’m not being vegan.

What about sweets? Occasionally I’ll use agave or sucanat to sweeten things a bit, but I avoid it as much as possible. Bananas are a GREAT natural sweetener, so I’ll pick a banana to sweeten my bowl of oatmeal over agave any day. About once a week, though, I do allow myself a clean treat made with natural ingredients and sweeteners in order to keep myself sane. 😉 (Please note that I make these treats only once a week because of the high amount of agave/sucanat used in them. If I can make a delectable dessert out of things I use on a daily basis, such as peanut butter, bananas, apples, berries, oats, unsweetened applesauce, cocoa powder, protein powder, etc., I don’t have to limit myself nearly as much. :P) While I don’t share the addiction many women have for chocolate, when the rare craving strikes, I can easily squash it with a piece of high-percentage dark chocolate (70% or higher is my ideal choice). I also use chocolate protein powder (mine smells like hot cocoa mix) and cocoa powder.

Besides writing/reading long blogs about food and eating, I really enjoy acting. I’ve been acting since I was 5-years-old, both in theater and film, all though lately my focus has been film. It’s been a fun adventure, no doubt. My most recent project is a movie called Minor Details, which you can find in RedBox and on iTunes.

I also do ballroom dance. Unfortunately I only take lessons twice a week, but I absolutely love it! Cha-Cha is my favorite, but I’m currently learning Country Western in my private lessons.

Oh yeah, I’m homeschooled. I’ve actually never been to public school–not once in my life. I get asked all the time if I like it, and the answer is YES. I DO like it, haha. 🙂 I enjoy the flexibility and the lack of a bad environment. After all, what are the chances of my mother offering me drugs? 😛 I plan to start taking college classes next semester and hopefully apply for university within the next year or so!

Well, this has become quite the long post, hasn’t it?? It’s okay though. It is my introduction post, after all. Anyway, thank you for reading, and hopefully I haven’t bored you too much. 😛 I look forward to beginning this new adventure in blogging and I hope you can join me!

Thanks!

Kelsey 🙂

2 responses to “Introductory post. :)

  1. I don’t worry about whether you would be able to say no to a drug offer! haha 🙂

Leave a Reply

