Fat.

Lately there’s been a lot of talk about fat. Heather‘s been talkin’ about it and Mandiee‘s posted about it, but its number one advocate has been none other than Chocolate-Covered Katie. In fact, she’s devoted a whole month to fat talk and the importance of it.

The truth is, our bodies NEED fat. They can’t function properly without it. There was a time that I would have pish posh’ed at that statement and given into the belief that fat = fat; however, over the past few months I have come to realize the crucial role fat plays in my (and everyone else’s) diet.

Fat can be used as a great source of energy and it also helps strengthen our hair, nails and skin. Fat makes up a part of all our body’s cells, and certain fats, like those found in avocadoes and almonds, can help protect against cholesterol.

Fat has some great health benefits, but another reason to include it in your diet is simply because it tastes good. If you’re a recurring reader on my blog, then you know that this girl likes her fats! Among my favorites are coconut (in any form, but particularly coconut cream/butter), peanut butter, any kind of nut/nut butter (almonds, cashews, pecans, walnuts), avocadoes, flax seed, and recently cacao nibs.

Speaking of my favorite fats, Katie has requested that her readers post a picture of them hugging their favorite fat(s). At the end of the month she’s going to compile all the pictures into one huge Hug-a-Fat post, so naturally, I had to participate. :)

Peanut butter and coconut cream = <3 Also, pardon the wet hair.

My “I can’t decide which fat I like better” face.

There ya go, Katie! Can’t wait to see the post. :)

In honor of this fat post, I’ve been doing some experimenting with fats.

Yesterday I used up the rest of my peanut butter jar in PB&J Overnight Oats and I all ready told you about my experiment with making cashew cream.

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/3 plus a little more Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze
  • 1 big strawberries + 5 cherries cooked up into jam (read how here)
  • rest of the PB jar (1 tbsp or so)
  • topped with one sliced strawberry, a tiny sprinkle of granola and a dollop of cashew cream

YUM.

I also figured out a cool way to eat the remaining cashew cream as my evening snack.

Cashew cream + 1/2 tbsp cocoa powder = Chocolate Mousse.

Oh my heaven, it was delicious. I think I want to make up a big batch of it, put it in a pie crust and eat it as a Chocolate Cashew Cream Pie. (Hmm, Tofu Chocolate Mousse Pie better watch out!)

As yet another salute to fats, I made my very own coconut butter! I’ve been thinking about it ever since HEAB first gave it a shot, and I decided it was finally time. Out came the food processor and in went the unsweetened, shredded coconut! Warning: there are a lot of pictures.

Blend, blend blend…

Scrape, scrape, scrape…

Getting closer…

It took quite a while to get it right. I read that most people left their food processor going for 10-20 minutes straight; it probably took that long in strictly blending time for me, too. Unfortunately the process itself was pretty long altogether. I had to keep scraping the sides down and holding the button down to make it go. So taxing, right? :P

The mechanism I used to hold the button down. That’s my protein powder set on the button, propped up by a serving spoon, with my Vita-Mix lid set on top to give it extra weight. It worked… for about three minutes. Darn.

So close!

And we’re there! Hooray!

Smooth and yummy.

My tired little mini food processor after the big job. The base was burning up!

Letting it cool in a glass container. Here it’s begun solidifying, hence the chunkiness.

Anyway, this stuff is delicious! It requires a lot of patience (maybe I’ll get it down faster after a couple tries), but I love it. Artisana’s and Tropical Traditions coconut butter/cream is better of course, but I still really like mine. Not to mention, making my own will be soo much more cost-effective in the long run. It’s slightly grittier than the others, but to me the grittiness is worth saving some money. Besides, next time I’ll try making it with the Vita-Mix. That should make it smooth, right? :)

Well, I hope you’ve enjoyed this post! It was definitely fun to write. Please, please do me a favor and check out the links I posted above. Each of them wrote extensively about the importance of fats and I really recommend you give them a read. I would’ve loved to have covered the benefits of eating fat more fully, but those ladies all ready did such a WONDERFUL job that reading their posts will suffice. Also, I fear I am not eloquent enough to express the importance of including dietary fat on my own, so if you take what I’ve said and combine it what they’ve said, you should be good!

Question of the Day: What’s YOUR favorite fat? What’s your favorite benefit of eating fat?

Thanks for reading!

Kelsey :)

27 responses to “Fat.

  1. Kelsey, how cute are you hugging your fats? My fat-hugging photo included wet hair as well – perhaps we’ll start a trend? ;)

    Oh my gosh, drooling over your cashew cream chocolate mousse – you are definitely a girl after my own heart, and I loved the protein powder canister button holder contraption. Sorry it didn’t last very long. Hehe.

    I was told that if you blend your homemade coconut butter in a blender after processing, it will cut down on the grit. So, I’m going to try that method next time.

    Happy Memorial Day! :)

    • Aww, thank you Heather. Haha for sure! Sounds like a good idea. :)

      Thank you! It was really really good… I recommend making it soon if you can. :)

      That’s a fantastic idea, thanks for letting me know. I’ll definitely try that next time when I have a bigger batch.

  2. You ar SO beautiful!!! AND smart, because you’re hugging the best peanut butter :). Three beauties in one post!!

    • Aww, you’re so sweet, Katie! You totally made my day haha. Thank you so much, and I have to agree that that peanut butter is the best! I love it. :)

  3. teenagehealthfreak

    AVOCADOS and coconut!! It always makes me happy and gives me energy.

  4. UR AMAZING! haha

    omg girlie u were accidently removed from my feeds!! i corrected that ASAP! i was thinking “hey what happened to that kelsey girl haha” IM SO SORRY FOR THE MISHAP! im back on board reading okay!!?? xoxo

    • Aw thanks girl, so are you!

      Hahaha that’s too funny. Well I’m glad you remembered! Not a problem at all; thanks so much for even wanting to read my blog. You’re the cooliest, and not just because of your name. :P

  5. Hi Kelsey, I asked my sister and she told me avocados are high in fat but very healthy. I live in San Diego and avocados are a major crop here so its plentiful and sold on the side of the road. Its one of my favorite foods. I googled about it and found when avocados are added to a vegetable dish they enhance your body’s ability to absorb potential carotenoids in veggies. Carotenoids aid in preventing disease and need a high-fat food like avocados to be absorbed into the body. Everyone knows about guacamole but you can also make a sandwich spread by blending in a mixer avocados, plain yogurt and fresh cilantro. I hope you like this answer because I really tried hard and researched to give a good answer. You are my inspiration to eat healthier and I will try to do something from each of your posts. I tell everyone I know to about your website and I posted it on my Facebook. Also, I like the bottom photo of you holding the peanut butter, but any post that has a photo of you in it I like a lot. You are really beautiful and have really beautiful eyes. Thank you for your articles, Ranch.

    • Yep, avocados are great for you! That’s way cool about them increasing your body’s ability to absorb carotenoids. I didn’t know that, so I will definitely be pairing avocados with veggies more often.

      That’s a great answer and it sounds really good! I’ll have to try it some time; if you make it, let me know what you think. Thanks so much, I’m glad I can inspire you to be healthy. Also, thank you for spreading the word about my blog. At this point that’s what I really really need, so I appreciate any help you give me. Lol thank you for the compliments! You’re really kind, I appreciate it a lot.

      Kelsey

  6. I just registered with WordPress!!!!

  7. You are a girl after my own heart! Love my fats! =P
    Almond butter is by far my favorite, but avocados come a close second. When I never had fat in my diet my skin and hair were so dry, and now they are luscious! Or.. at least I think so. Haha great post! :)

    • Hooray! Fats are the best. :) Ahh girl, I need to get my hands on some almond butter. I don’t have that much experience with it, to be honest, other than making my own raw. I’m mostly a peanut butter girl, as you can tell from my blog. :P I would really like to branch out though… what’s your favorite brand of almond butter? :)

  8. Do you have to use a special kind of coconut, because I tried making homemade coconut butter and had it in the food proccessor for 20-25 min and it just got into really small pieces, but nothing close to coconut butter?

  9. MMmm yummy fat. Like you, I haven’t always embraced the healthy fats – but now I can’t get enough of them! I made coconut butter like that – and it took about 15 minutes of straight processing, too – I liked your method. Very clever. :-)

    • I know, it used to be really hard for me; in fact, I thought the idea of eating fat was gross. Oh, how naive I was. :P How did your coconut butter compare to Artisana’s?

  10. I really like your blog! I just started my own and I’m still learning everything. It looks like you’ve got it all figured out. I”ll definitely be coming back. :)

    P.S. Take a look at mine if you’ve got a chance. I’d really appreciate some feedback.
    Anddd, my favorite fat is. . . I have a lot. :/ Haha, I like peanut butter, coconut butter, olive oil, walnut oil, butter, avocado . . . wow. I can’t choose.

  11. Gotta love fats! I haven’t tried coconut cream but it looks great!

  12. Pingback: Your “Hug a Fat” Photo Shoot « Chocolate-Covered Katie

  13. Pingback: I Hate Crickets. « CleanTeenKelsey

  14. Pingback: I Am Tummy, Hear Me Roar. « CleanTeenKelsey

  15. Pingback: MIA: Meals In Action « CleanTeenKelsey

  16. Pingback: K is for ______ « CleanTeenKelsey

Leave a Reply

