Wheat… that is cracked.

Today I tried something new: cracked wheat. I told you all that I got some in this post, but today I actually broke cut the bag open.

It cooks up just like oatmeal, except the ratio is one part wheat to three parts water, whereas oatmeal is 1/2. I used 1/4 cup wheat and 3/4 cup water on the stovetop.

In the cracked wheat (cooked the whipped oatmeal way) was 1/2 a banana, 1 tsp vanilla extract, a sprinkle of salt and some cinnamon. I topped it with a tablespoon of cashew butter and a sprinkle of cocoa. So good!

My bowl before the cocoa sprinkling:

With cocoa sprinkling:

Don’t mind my Looney Tunes bowl. :)

I’ve decided that I really like cracked wheat! It has a nice crunch, which oatmeal lacks. I have a feeling you will be seeing more of it on this blog in the future. :)

I need to get off and do my school, but I’ll probably be back later tonight with the rest of my meals. Have a great day!

Thanks for reading!

Kelsey :)

P.S. Check out Gena’s current contest at Choosing Raw. She’s giving away $50 shopping spree to iHerb! So cool!

3 responses to “Wheat… that is cracked.

  1. Cracked wheat looks yummy! You could mix it with some fresh veggies, lemon, parsley and olive oil for a tabouleh salad next time you’re craving veggies in the morning. ;)

  2. Hmm, never seen cracked wheat in the store. I will have to give it a try when I run out of my normal rolled oats. :)

    Thanks for the lovely comments, girl! I will be replying soon..I am very busy with my senior year…but I DO want to reply…I love talking with other bloggers and it’s great to meet new food bloggers, especially ones who are my age. :)

Leave a Reply

