My brother is home!

Hey everyone!

How’s your week been so far? Mine’s been tiring but great as usual. I did school on Monday and Tuesday, had two hours of ballroom dance on Wednesday, and then my older brother, Brady, came home from college last night! He didn’t get in til 3 AM due to some plane problems, so I wasn’t in bed until at least 5:30 AM. Needless to say, I slept in until 1:30 PM today.

Anyway, I am so, so excited that he’s home. I’ve missed him so much. He’s here til Tuesday for Spring Break, so I’m really looking forward to the time I get to spend with him. I’ll try to post pictures of the fun things we do. :)

Moving on to the food. On Sunday night all I could think about was Katie’s Breakfast Pizzert, so that was the first thing I made Monday morning. Can I just say how much I absolutely LOVE this recipe? It’s so good and mine always comes out more like a breakfast cookie than a pizza crust. No complaints there whatsoever.  (Psst, check out Katie’s $50 shopping spree to iHerb, an online health food store with thousands of incredible products.)

image

My PB & chocolate breakfast pizzert. I used Katie’s basic recipe, but I did about 1/4 + 1/8 cup whole wheat flour and used peanut flour for the other 1/8 cup. I was seriously craving a peanut butter cookie, so I figured I’d give it a shot. I also added in some dark chocolate chips. :)

Oh. My. Gosh. Best. Breakfast. Ever. Seriously. I couldn’t believe that what I was eating was healthy! It did not taste like it at all and I was pretty much in heaven. The addition of the peanut flour was awesome; it made it taste like a peanut butter cookie, which is exactly what I wanted.

image

The complete pizzert with toppings. I topped two slices with Artisana Cacao Bliss, three slices with Tropical Traditions Coconut Cream Concentrate and three slices with Tropical Traditions Coconut Peanut Butter. Then, as you can see, I cut up some strawberries and bananas to finish it off. YUM!

I also made my little brother some oatmeal, not because he offered me a dollar to do so, but because I really like making food for people, haha. It’s sometimes more fun in my opinion, especially when they don’t aim for a certain carbs/protein/fat ratio like  I do. Rather than stressing out that a certain combination has “too many carbs,” I can serve someone something simply because I know it will be delicious.

Dakota’s oatmeal: 1/3 cup oats cooked the whipped oatmeal way in 1/3 cup water + 1/3  cup Unsweetened Coconut Milk. I also “whipped in” a banana and cinnamon, stirred in a 1/2 scoop of cake batter protein powder and topped it all with sliced strawberries.

image

He said it was “amazing,” which is exactly what I wanted to hear. Yay! :)

image

You may be wondering what that big, weird mess of green food is. To be honest, I really don’t know, but it was good. I should’ve taken pictures through out the cooking process, but I had NO idea if it was going to work so I opted not to.

Anyway, I began by sauteeing some broccoli and green/red peppers in some coconut oil. While that was cooking, I blended up a cube of tofu with some lemon juice, coconut milk and a handful of spinach. I also added in some cumin, Mexican seasonings and onion powder. (Remember, I had NO idea what I was doing.)

After the veggies were softened, I poured the tofu combo onto the pan and let it cook. At first I was afraid I’d created a soup, because the mixture wouldn’t solidify, but with some patience and some stirring, it cooked into a scrambled egg-like dish.

I assembled a veggie-loaded salad, topped it with the tofu scramble and added some tomatillo salsa to keep up with the attempted Mexican theme.

Like I said before, this was really, really good! I don’t know what I did and I don’t know what to call it, but I will make it again soon. Do you guys have any name suggestions? I’d love to hear them. :)

Before I go, I want to leave you with pictures of the oven-roasted potatoes I made last night.

image

The red potatoes were cooked with salt, pepper, a garlic/olive oil marinade and two cloves of garlic. The sweet potatoes were just sliced and thrown in the pan, but later I added some cinnamon. I didn’t do anything special, but both kinds were really yummy! I guess that kind of goes without saying though, considering potatoes are always good. :)

Well, that’s about it. Thanks for reading! :)

Question of the Day 1: How often do you deviate from your normal diet, per se? For me it’s not very often. I honestly don’t even have the desire to eat something I shouldn’t, and I often have to remind myself that it’s okay to be less strict. Yes, I’ve chosen a different lifestyle than most of America, and I’m 100% happy with it. However, when it starts to interfere with my social life and my ability to do normal things with people, that’s a problem. It’s all about finding a balance and doing the best you can. What are your thoughts? :)

Question of the Day 2: Have you ever gone into the kitchen with no expectations, randomly whipped something up and had it turn out great? What was it? How did you do it? Let me know!

Thanks for reading!

Kelsey :)

4 responses to “My brother is home!

  1. i love when my older brothers come to visit me! its one of the best feelings isnt it!?!

    omg u made that pizzert proud! i can sense ur excitement about how good it tasted all the way over here hehe. i need to hop on this pizzert bandwagon and try one out for myself.

    have fun with ur fam @ the melting pot! and happy earth day kelsey!

    from one kelsey to another <3

  2. You’re so awesome, miss Kelsey!! Your posts always make me smile. I’ll definitely include you in the pizzert shout out post when I get around to doing it :). Love your pb cookie idea!!

  3. Pingback: (Pizza) Pie equals 3.14 « Chocolate-Covered Katie

  4. Pingback: This week I… « CleanTeenKelsey

Leave a Reply

