Spring Break Food!

I’ve gotta get working on some projects, but here’s a quick blog with some of the food I ate over Spring Break:

My breakfast on Monday was the infamous Oats in a Jar, AKA OAJ. For those unfamiliar with this term, allow me to explain. We’ve all had that jar of peanut butter sitting in our fridge/pantry that no one uses because it’s practically gone. It’s typically labeled as “empty” and thrown away. The OAJ theory, however, puts that mostly-empty peanut butter jar to use by stirring oats into the jar, allowing them to combine with the remaining peanut butter. It’s simple, really, but often times simple is best. :)

My OAJ. 1/3 cup oats cooked with 2/3 cup Water/Unsweetened Almond Breeze combo, 1 scoop chocolate protein powder, cinnamon and remaining peanut butter.

Then I had this ^ salad for lunch. Mixed greens, cucumber, tomato and celery with seasoned, cold pinto beans and salsa. Yum!

Dinner was both a success and a failure… at the same time.

Success:

I attempted to make my own, FAST veggie burger, as I was starving and the rest of the family was having turkey burgers.

The recipe was really simple, but it’s one I’ll be making again. It only had three ingredients! (And no, the spices and water don’t count. :D)

Easy as 1-2-3 Veggie Burger

Ingredients:

  • A little less than 1/2  cup black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2 TBSP oats
  • 1/8-1/4 cup frozen corn
  • Splash of water
  • Optional: Onion, garlic clove, red peper, spices (onion powder, garlic powder, cumin, chili powder, etc.)

1. Place all ingredients in Vita-Mix (or blender of choice).
2. Pulse until chunky and combined. (You should be able to mold the “dough” into a little ball. If not, add more water.)
3. Remove the mixture from the blender, form it into a little patty and heat on the stove top. Enjoy!

Now for the failure:

I tried to make a veggie soup with my burger out of 2 palm sized tomatoes, 4 stalks of celery, onion and some garlic, but it didn’t work. I even added some Italian seasonings, but it didn’t taste like much more than spiced, warm water. Blech. :(

On another day, I discovered what has become my favorite breakfast.

1/2 cup plain, greek yogurt, 1 full scoop chocolate protein powder, and 1 TBSP peanut butter. Then I cut up my apple and used the yogurt mix as a dip.

Oh, it was SO GOOD. I felt like I was cheating and eating dessert. The best part was that the whole thing contained over 35g of protein. It kept me full past 2:00 PM, which is saying something.

For lunch I made Katie‘s Lazy-Girl Quiche recipe. I omitted the mushrooms and added onions to the mix.

Pre-baking:

Post-baking:

Yum! They were really good with my lunch, and I even added some black beans for extra protein.

For dinner I had…

Peppers, onions and tofu sauteed in coconut oil, seasoned, and topped with hummus. Soo good!

Well, I gotta get going, but I will be back shortly.

Question of the Day: How do you feel about eating other people’s food when you’re put in the situation? I’m referring to any time someone else provides food for you. I often feel guilty, because I know the average person doesn’t have food I’ll eat. I feel like my special diet is my “problem,” and it’s not something they should have to worry about. When I don’t have a choice though, I just make the best of what they’ve provided. Let me know what you do/think!

Kelsey :)

4 responses to “Spring Break Food!

  1. I love your posts, Miss Kelsey :)

  2. I definitely get a little weird about eating other people’s food, when it doesn’t fit my eating habits and lifestyle choices. I usually just politely say no thanks, or “I can’t,” or “I’m not hungry/just ate/brought something for myself” or something like that.

  3. Your eats look so yummy, Kelsey! I have yet to try oats in a jar, but I’ve been wanting too. Once my current jar of pb is done I think I’ll try it :)

    About the blogroll on my blog…when I go to “customize” there’s an option to “add a gadget”. Then a list pops up with different things I can add to my blog like a subscription button, a follow me button, etc. There’s also a button for blogroll. I am sure wordpress has something similar. You should be able to add it the same way you added other things like your “contact me” gadget. If you still can’t figure it out, try googling it. I google questions all the time concerning my blog and I almost always find the answer that way!

Leave a Reply

