Week-Long Post Part 1; Chocolate, Apples & Pizza!

Beware, this is going to be another huge post. Why? Because I have been HUGELY lacking in time, so this will be another catch-up. In fact, it’s so huge, that I’m breaking it into two posts. This is post numero uno. :)

I’d like to begin by FREAKING OUT. I’ve been nominated for a Young Artist Award! The Young Artist Awards is kind of like The Oscars for teenage actors, but it’s not as big of a deal. Plus it’s not broadcasted and stuff. It’s extremely exciting though, considering people like Miley Cyrus, Selena Gomez, Abigail Breslin and Dakota Fanning are nominated for these awards. Now obviously their nominations are for huge things, like Best Actress in a TV Show, and mine is for a little thing like Performance in a DVD Film, but still! It’s really exciting, even though I won’t win.

Moving onto the FOOOOOD. Now like I said, there are  going to be lots of pictures and descriptions because I’m so behind. Feel free to skim through if you like!

For breakfast on Monday I made German Chocolate Oatmeal:

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 2/3 cup (plus a little more, depending on how liquidy you like it) water
  • 2 TBSP raw wheat germ
  • 1/2 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • Sweetener, to taste (I used some sucanat)
  • 1 TBSP melted coconut butter
  • Optional: coconut extract

Process:

Cook the oats and wheat germ on the stovetop in the 2/3 cup water. Stir in protein powder and cocoa powder. Stir in sweetener, and top with melted coconut butter. Enjoy!

I would recommend not stirring in the coconut butter; I stirred mine and lost a lot of the flavor because of it. Just my suggestion. :)

For my afternoon snack one day, I enjoyed…

Microwave Baked Apples stuffed with frozen blueberries and a tsp or so of sucanat. Soo good!

^ Pre-cooking.

^ Post-cooking. The juice from the blueberries combined with the sucanat to make a really yummy sauce. :)

I cut a slice out so you could see the inside. :)

Along with my baked apple, I enjoyed protein cookie dough, a la April.

For dinner, I had more of my black bean/brown rice/corn veggie burger. (Scroll to the bottom of the post)

Alongside a huge mound of asparagus and broccoli.

Topped with the rest of my spinach artichoke hummus mixed with salsa. YUM!

On Tuesday I decided to make Heather’s Pizza Pancakes.

The batter. I used chunky tomato sauce instead of tomato paste. That is a lovely little tomato you see sitting upon my spoon. :)

One little cake cooking on the stove top. :)

Also, I decided to make some hummus to top my pancakes. I know it looks disgusting, but it was very yummy!

My complete lunch. You’ll notice I heated up the rest of my Completely Delicious Mexican Soup. (<–click and scroll to the very bottom for the recipe)

These pancakes were SOO good, Heather! They tasted just like pizza and I loved them.  I will be making them again! Also, thank you for making them vegan. I’m not fully vegan, but I’m experimenting and prefer to eat that way as often as I can. It was really nice not to have to make any substitutions. :)

Close up of my soup. Yes, that is steam you see clouding up the bottom left corner. Mmmm.

All right, well that brings us to the end of part 1. Get ready for part 2, which is full of a TON of new, original recipes!

Kelsey :)

3 responses to “Week-Long Post Part 1; Chocolate, Apples & Pizza!

  1. Congrats on your nomination, Kelsey! That must be SO exciting! Why don’t you think you will win? I’ve never watched any of your movies, but I did watch the preview for “Minor Details” and just from that it looks like you are a very talented young women! Don’t sell yourself short! :) I wish you the best of luck!

    Kayla

  2. Congrats on your nomination Kelsey! That is super exciting!!!

    Glad you enjoyed the pizza pancakes. I find that disgusting looking meals usually taste the best. ;)

  3. Thank you for sharing the info. I found the information extremely helpful.

Leave a Reply

