Artisana, you are my love.

Sorry for my lack of posting these past two days. Wednesdays are my favorite day of the week, but they’re also my craziest day of the week!

So crazy, that the only two pictures I managed were the following…

My dinner. It was sooo good, my word. I call it the Black and Bleu Burger Sandwich. :)

Ingredients:

  • 1 can black beans
  • Whatever seasonings you like (cumin, garlic, salt, etc.)
  • 1 whole wheat sandwich thin (or two pieces of whole wheat bread)
  • 2 TSP hummus (I used spinach artichoke)
  • Avocado, to your taste
  • Crumbled low-fat bleu cheese
  • And of course, you can’t forget that sprig of cilantro :)

It goes like this:

  • Drain and rinse a can of black beans. Season them to your liking with cumin, Mrs. Dash, garlic, chili pepper, sea salt, whatever. Put them on the stove and warm them up over med/low. It may help to add some water so they don’t dry out.
  • Meanwhile, put the two halves of a whole wheat sandwich thin (or bread, or a bagel, or whatever you want) into the toaster. I didn’t really want mine heavily toasted, so I used it more to warm the halves.
  • Spread a TSP of hummus (or more if you like) and some avocado (as much or as little as you want) on each sandwich halve/piece of bread.
  • Top with the black beans, a sprinkle of bleu cheese and that dandy little cilantro sprig. :D

Eat up! It was seriously so good; both my mom and I loooved it. The best part is that since bleu cheese is so flavorful, you only need a tiiiiny amount to get a huge burst of flavor. Feta and gorgonzola are the same way. Less cheese = less calories and less fat. Yay!

By the way, this was my breakfast yesterday:

Sauteed collard greens, spinach, broccoli, and carrots with tofu, avocado, salsa, cashews and what else? Cilantro, of course. :D It actually was a lot bigger than the picture looks. It filled over half my plate, and it was very yummy!

In other news, I love Whole Foods. Seriously, I could live in that store! The only things I don’t like are the dang expensive prices. $3 for a bunch of celery? $11 for a pound of dried fruit/raw nuts? $6 for a tiny, tiny container of blueberries? Heck no! Sorry Whole Foods, but I will continue to buy my produce at Sun Harvest, where I can get a huge 1 lb. bag of organic baby carrots for $o.99!

However, you will always have a special ginormous place in my heart. Why? Because you carry ARTISANA COCONUT BUTTER, that’s why.

(Please pardon the horrible camera phone picture quality)

I literally squealed when I saw this sitting on the shelf, not gonna lie. I don’t think I can even put into words how excited I was. I think some people thought I was weird, but I didn’t care, because I HAD COCONUT BUTTER.

I quickly grabbed the smallest jar off the shelf and ran to the price check, where I found out that the little 8 oz. jar was $8.49. That’s more than a dollar an ounce! I was almost 100% positive¬† that my mom would say no, considering she doesn’t read blogs and doesn’t fully understand the amazingness that is coconut butter. However, much to my surprise, she said yes!!

The Vita-Mix guy was there doing a demo too, so naturally I talked to him and sampled the stuff. :D He made the most amazing juice smoothie with cantaloupe, grapes, pineapple, strawberries, etc. He also made a deeelicious green smoothie (but with a lot more fruit than I usually use) and a yummy (vegan!) tortilla soup. It was fantastic. Oh how I love you, Vita-Mix.

Anyway, back to the coconut butter. I skipped through that store like a kid in a candy shop, and I couldn’t wait to get home to try it!

So. Amazing. Oh. My. Goodness. I’m in love! I was kind of nervous to let my mom taste it, because I knew that if she didn’t think it was worth the $8, we wouldn’t be buying it again. After all, she pays the bills, not me.

But I was extremely happy to find that she loves it almost as much as I do! She had to take my brother to his volleyball game and when she came back, she told me “Oh man, that coconut stuff is so good! I was like, craving it the whole time I was gone!” Hahaha. I think I have successfully converted her to Artisana. :)

I decided I needed to do something creative with it, so after eating lunch…

(Whole wheat sandwich thin with 2 tsp spinach artichoke hummus, cucumbers and kale. Very simple. No protein,  I know, but what can I say? The sensible part of my brain was taken over by Artisana Coconut Love.)

…I decided to make a version of Katie’s Cashew Cookie Babies.

Her recipe calls for dates, but I didn’t have any, so I had to substitute dried peaches. (It was a REALLY yummy substitute!) I made a veeeery small batch with 1/8 cup cashews, half a dried peach slice, a splash of vanilla and a sprinkle of salt. Oh yeah, I added in some coconut butter, too. :D

I know it looks gross, but I PROMISE it wasn’t!! It was a delicious combination of peachy-coconutty-cashew goodness. So, Katie, I hope you don’t mind, but I call this version a Tropical Luau Baby. Because that’s exactly what it was. Yum. :D

This is slightly unrelated, but sometimes I wish my Vita-Mix were smaller. I always like to whip up recipes that people post, but I like to make them in suuuper small batches because if I don’t do something right, I don’t want to waste a lot of ingredients, you know?

However, that’s kind of hard to do with the Vita-Mix. When you have a small amount of something in the blender, it tends to get stuck underneath the blades and doesn’t blend very easily. I constantly have to stop, stir, turn it on again and repeat the process. Now don’t get me wrong–I LOVE the Vita-Mix. I couldn’t live without it and I use it every single day. It just tends to work better with larger quantities that fill the machine above the blade.

So, while rummaging through our cupboards to see if we had anything more fit for small batches, I found…

This! A miniature Cuisinart food processor. I held up my hand for size reference, and you can also compare its size to the Vita-Mix base on the left. It was perfect: lightweight, easy to work, stylish (I love black and silver), and the perfect size for my miniature batches! There was only one problem…

It didn’t turn on. At all. I tried everything I could think of, and I even texted my mom to see if she knew why. (She sarcastically responded with “Did you plug it in?” lol. Yes, Mom. Yes I did.) It wouldn’t work no matter what I did, and I was very disappointed. :( Oh well. I’ll just have to keep being patient and scraping my Vita-Mix.

By the way, I tried kohlrabi today! We participate in an organic veggie co-op, and were recently given a whole bunch of this odd vegetable. I had no idea what to do with it, so I consulted my friend Katie.

She told me you can eat it raw, on its own, so that is exactly what I did.

It really resembled the taste of cucumber, but a little crunchier.

The consensus: I like kohlrabi! My mom does too. I think it would make a really yummy dipper for hummus and stuff. :D

In closing, this was my dinner:

A black bean/rice/corn veggie burger from The Eat-Clean Diet Cookbook on a collard green leaf, topped with a little ketchup and mustard. On the side is a mashed sweet potato with cinnamon and nutmeg.

Very carby,  I know, but it was sooo good. I loved the burger and have some left over filling to make more. Yay! Let me know if you guys want me to type up the recipe, because I totally will. I bet it would make a delicious Black and Bleu Burger!

Also, my family wanted a little dessert afterwards, so I made “ice cream.” I put half a frozen banana in the Vita-Mix along with frozen peaches, frozen pineapple and frozen grapes. I also added a handful of frozen blueberries and the tiniest splash of almond milk. I didn’t take a picture and the measurements weren’t exact, but it was so good! I know I didn’t come up with the idea, but I loved it, and you can really make any variation you like. If I had been thinking, I would’ve added some Coconut Love, too. :)

Question of the Day 1: What is your favorite way to eat/use coconut butter? I’d love to hear and use your methods! :)

Question of the Day 2: Where do you shop for most of your food? Whole Foods? Sun Harvest? Trader Joe’s? Your typical grocery store? Let me know!

Kelsey :)

3 responses to “Artisana, you are my love.

  1. Oh Kelsey your tropicl babies are TOO CUTE! Just like you!

  2. Pingback: Week-Long Post Part 1; Chocolate, Apples & Pizza! « CleanTeenKelsey

  3. Pingback: POM Wonderful Review :) « CleanTeenKelsey

Leave a Reply

