First REAL Post: Meals, Randomness, & a Tribute to 3 Awesome Ladies!

I’m going to begin this post by saying that Averie is amazing! I love all of her recipes and have a huge list of ones I need to make. :) One at the top of my list was the Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough balls… mmm. So I whipped up a half batch, which made 9 thumb-sized dough balls.

Here is her recipe, with my substitutions to the side. (Remember, I halved the recipe . :D)

Averie’s Raw Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Balls
2/3 c raw cashews (I used 1/3 cup oats)
1/3 c oats (I used 1/6 cup whole wheat pastry flour)
2 Tbsp Agave
1 Tbsp Maple Syrup (I don’t have maple syrup, so I just used 1.5 tablespoons agave)
1 Tsp Vanilla Extract
1/4 c Chocolate Chips (I used a small handful of dark chocolate chips)
Recipe Yields: Approximately 17 Cookie Dough Balls

Like I said, it made nine cookie dough balls, about 20 calories each. There were enough for my mom, little brother and I to each have three, but I finished mine before I took a picture… woops. ;) These are my mom’s.

Fantastic, Averie! I loved them and I will make them again. Next time I won’t use whole wheat pastry flour; it added kind of a baking powder taste, so I’m going to try using all oat flour. They were delicious though and really hit the spot!

Next I am going to tell you about a little snack I tried last night: a little less than 1/4 cup nonfat greek plain yogurt, mixed with 1/2 tsp peanut butter and a kiwi. Um…

EW. DON’T do it! I don’t know what made me think this would taste good, but it definitely did not. I added a little bit of honey, which helped, but it was still really gross. I had a hard time eating it and yeah… I won’t be doing that again. lol.

Moving onto today! I woke up with the plan to eat some overnight Chocolate Brownie Protein Oats I’d made last night, but changed my mind and opted for pancakes instead. HEAB Almond Flour pancakes, that is. :)

Of course I didn’t have almond flour, so I had to lamely substitute whole wheat pastry flour instead. BUT they were still delicious! I absolutely loved them!

My batter: 3/4 scoop choco PB protein powder, 1 TBSP cocoa powder, 2 TBSP whole wheat pastry flour, 2 TBSP ground flax + 1/4 cup water (to replace the egg), 1 tsp honey and 2 TBSP almond milk to thin it down. Oh, yeah, I MIGHT’ve broken up a piece of 7o% dark chocolate in there.. but the chances of that are pretty slim. ;)

More batter-y goodness.

The completed cakes, topped with 1 TBSP peanut butter. So yummy! <3

Close-up of the peanut butter… because I love it so much. :)

Since my last attempt at making Katie’s Pancake Roll-Ups failed, (I made them too small; they ended up being open-faced roll-ups. :P) I figured I’d roll these babies up and give it a try. I loved it! Rolling them up made them so much more fun to eat, like little chocolate-peanut-butter-filled burritos. :D

I decided that my Reese’s inspired breakfast should at least be SOMEWHAT healthy, so I made a green smoothie/juice with 1 smallish tomato, 11 baby carrots, 2 handfuls of spinach, 1/2 orange, 10 grapes and a little bit of water. It was absolutely delicious and the perfect healthy end to my non-healthy-tasting breakfast.

This is me trying to be artistic. Like the cilantro sprig? haha. (Speaking of cilantro, can I just say how much I LOVE this little green herb?! It’s absolutely amazing, oh my gosh. It adds so much flavor to anything. I’m definitely in love. :D)

My complete breakfast… well, sort of. It was mostly gone by the time I took this picture. :P Oh, by the way, that little white blob at the top of the plate is a piece of fresh coconut. Gotta get my fats in, you know. :) Don’t you love my classy paper plate? lol.

3 hours later, I had this for lunch:

2 akmak crackers, each topped with a teaspoon of spinach artichoke hummus, 2 1/2 hard-boiled egg whites, (note to self: dogs love hard-boiled egg yolks) and a big salad made with kale, spinach, carrots and broccoli. I threw in a tiiiny handful of raisins and topped it all with balsamic vinegar and lemon juice.

Unfortunately I did not finish this lovely salad. It was too much for me, and I think I put too much vinegar, lol.

3 hours later, for my late-afternoon snack, I had this lovely concoction:

That, my friends, is banana ice cream. How does one make said banana ice cream? It’s simple, really. :) Freeze as many bananas as you want to use, (I like to slice them onto a jelly roll pan so they freeze faster) toss them in the blender, and blend it up! You shouldn’t need to add anything if you have a powerful blender like a Vita-Mix or Blend-Tec. If not, you may have to add a splash of milk to get things going. :D

I blended in 1/2 tbsp peanut butter and a splash of vanilla, but you could add protein powder, cocoa powder, coconut butter, coconut pieces, frozen mango, frozen/fresh strawberries, grated carrot, raisins and cinnamon to make carrot cake banana ice cream, etc. The possibilities are endless! :)

(Topped with 2 raw almonds and 3 dark chocolate chips)

Along with my banana ice cream, I enjoyed 1/2 cup nonfat greek plain yogurt mixed with some salsa as a dip for carrots and broccoli. It was way good. :)

I didn’t have the opportunity to eat again until about 9:30 PM, and by then it was too late for any starchy carbs. I needed straight protein with as few carbs as possible, so I made April’s Protein Cake with +18g protein and 2-3g carbs.

I made a carrot cake variation by omitting the cocoa powder and sweetener. I used 1/2 scoop cake batter protein powder, (not entirely clean, but we have a HUGE container of it that has to get used up before we can buy new, clean protein powder. Jay Robb, here I come. :D) added 1 1/2 baby carrots, grated, a sprinkle of cinnamon, a splash of vanilla and a handful of raisins. It was really good, and the perfect pre-bedtime meal. I topped it off with a little bit of nonfat plain greek yogurt to mimic cream cheese frosting and had a little (1/4 cup) glass of almond milk. It was awesome. :)

Well, those are all my meals for the day. I totaled 4 meals, which isn’t too bad considering I’m trying to get in 5-6 (breakfast, snack, lunch, snack, dinner, snack) a day. It’s a work and progress, and I will get this clean-eating thing down. :)

By the way, I just want to give a biiig shout out to HEAB, Katie, and Averie. You don’t even know me, but I LOVE your blogs and have enjoyed reading them soo much. You three were really the inspiration behind me making a blog, so I just wanted to thank you. I admire you all and I really look up to you. :)

Whoo, this is long. Thank you if you’ve stuck through and read to the end. It’s my first “real” post, and I’m just starting to get a feel for this whole blogging thing. I like it. :D

People usually do a question of the day, right? Okay. Here’s mine. It’s TOTALLY unrelated to this post, but I’ve been wondering:

Question of the Day: Have you ever had any HORRIBLE kitchen/cooking failures? If so, what were they? What did you learn from the experience? Did the disaster yield anything of merit? Tell me all about it! Personally, I’ve had so many failures that I have a hard time trying new recipes. I’m really afraid that I’ll mess them up and waste expensive ingredients. I really wanna know your experiences, though.

Till tomorrow,

Kelsey :)

3 responses to “First REAL Post: Meals, Randomness, & a Tribute to 3 Awesome Ladies!

  1. Oh you are the SWEETEST!!!! And I don’t think I’ve ever heard of anything better than peanut butter burritos for breakfast! :)

  2. Kelsey,
    Hello, nice to meet you. You’re so cute. :)

    So happy to hear you enjoyed your pancakes, and who doesn’t love chocolate pb filled burritos for breakfast?!?

    Everything else looked tasty as well. Cooking disaster? Um, yes, the worst was when I tried to make homemade Pumpkin Oreo cheesecake ice-cream in my Vita-Mix. I subbed carrots for the pumpkin and Newman’s O’s for the Oreos, and it was a complete disaster. Haha, CD wouldn’t even eat it!

  3. I love your version of the protein cakes! They are perfect for late night snacks!

Leave a Reply

